PBA: Terrafirma, the team that selected first in four of the previous five PBA drafts, will be outside this time

May 9, 2024

Spread the love

Converge will hold the top overall pick in the upcoming PBA draft this July for the first time in the team’s history.

A miserable season in Season 48, which included a 1-10 record in the Commissioner’s Cup, secured the FiberXers the much sought-after selection.

Converge received its highest pick in franchise history despite the league not having released the official draft order until after the season-ending Philippine Cup. This is because the ballclub owned by Dennis Uy had two consecutive losing seasons.

Converge finished its Philippine Cup season last week, improving its record to 2-9. The team’s overall season record was 3-19, and it was unable to qualify for the postseason in either of the two conferences.

A team’s total win-loss record for the season determines the draft order; the Commissioner’s Cup is worth 40% of the weight and the Philippine Cup is worth 60%.

The Commissioner’s Cup is worth thirty percent, the Governor’s Cup is worth thirty percent, and the Philippine Cup is worth forty percent in a three-conference setup.

In the Commissioner’s Cup, Blackwater similarly concluded with a 1-10 record, but due to the Bossing’s 103-84 victory in their head-to-head match, Blackwater finished ahead of Converge.

Despite not making the playoffs this season either, the Bossing had a stronger record in the Philippine Cup, going 3-7, and they still had a game versus Phoenix on Saturday.

However, Blackwater, the No. 2 team that would choose behind Converge, seemed to be already a lock as well.

Having held the first pick in the draft since 2018, Terrafirma was able to select CJ Perez, Roosevelt Adams (2019), Joshua Munzon (Season 46), and Stephen Holt (Season 48).

In the Season 47 draft, Blackwater selected big man Brandon Ganuelas-Rosser with the first overall pick.

The Beermen acquired the right to choose No. 1 in the draft after a contentious trade involving draft rights that included Ronald Tubid, Jay-R Reyes, Rashawn McCarthy, and a first-round pick in the 2019 draft (Christian Balagasay). San Miguel was the last team to select No. 1 outside of the Dyip or Bossing in 2017.

Converge Coach Aldin Ayo has not disclosed who the FiberXers are targeting to join the core group that is already composed of Alec Stockton and Justin Arana, the team’s Rookie of the Year from the previous campaign.

The squad selected Jeo Ambohot (No. 3) and Arana (No. 4) in Season 47 and Schonny Winston (No. 9) and BJ Andrade (No. 10) in Season 48, the last two rookie drafts since Converge acquired the Alaska franchise.

Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Bundesliga International agrees on a regional partnership with Mega Casino World in Asia
MCW Sports Newsletter subscription
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter