Everything That Is There to Know About the Indian Super League

Sep 13, 2021

Spread the love
Since its foundation in the year 2014, Indian Super League(ISL) has grown in fame to become a pillar in Indian football. With each passing season, the ISL is leaving its landmark moments in the minds of Indians and also making itself rich in history. Records, statistics, and also variability play a huge role in the history-making of this great league. We have compiled for you some of the must-know ISL histories even as we prepare for its start on the 9th of November in Goa.
  1. The most successful ISL team ISL’s team ATK is the three-time ISL title holder making it the most successful ISL team. This Kolkata original team won the very first ISL title during its inauguration in 2014 and won the 2016 season and also 2019. Antonio Lopez Habas is the only coach who has won the ISL title multiple times with the same team. Chennaiyin FC is a two-times champion by winning the top honors in 2015 and 2017 with Bengaluru winning the title in the 2018 season.
  2. The Highest goal scoring match in the history of ISL The Highest scoring match was an 11-goal match between Easy Bengal and Odisha FC in the 2020 season. East Bengal had a 2-1 goal lead when going to halftime. Odisha FC hit back in the second half with a 6-3 lead. East Bengal later salvaged two more goals making it a 6-5 match. Although the teams were at the bottom of the table, this match was thrilling because it was all about which team walks away with their heads held high. The scorers of the match were Odisha’s FC Paul Ramfangzauva and Jerry Mawihmingthanga who scored two and East Bengal’s Aaron Amadi who also scored two goals.
  3. The longest goal in ISL Rafael Crivellaro, a former Chennaiyin FC midfielder holds the record of scoring a goal from 55 yards in ISL. This was a match between NorthEast United Fc and Chennaiyins in the 2019 season. Rafael took up the ball near the halfway line and shoot it for 55 yards before catching the NorthEast United goalie off his line and the ball finding its way to the back of the net.
  4. Team with the most goals in ISL Goa FC is the team that has scored the most goals in the history of ISL. In the 2020 season, Goa FC had already scored a total of 238 goals in all 130 matches played. Chennaiyin FC holds the second position with 182 goals in the 127 matches.
  5. The biggest winning margin in ISL In the 2015 season, Goa FC went heads on with Mumbai City FC at the Fatorda. Goa FC ended up with the biggest win margin after they scored 7 goals to nothing. Brazilian Reinaldo scored five goals on his own while Thongkhosiem Haopkip and Dudu Omagbemi scored a hat-trick each.
  6. Highest goal scorer in ISL The former Goa FC Ferran Corominas is the highest goal scorer in ISL leading with a total of 48 goals in all 57 matches played. In the second position is Sunil Chhetri of Bengaluru FC with a total of 47 goals in all his 94 matches played.
  7. The longest winless streak in ISL With 14 matches Unwin, Hyderabad FC holds the title for the team with the longest winless runs in the history of ISL. The team with the most losses however is held by Delhi Dynamos with six losses in the 2017 season in a row.
These are some of the facts on the history of the India Super League that you should know about. Catch all the exciting events in the upcoming ISL 2021 season and be a witness as history is made.
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Bundesliga International agrees on a regional partnership with Mega Casino World in Asia
MCW Sports Newsletter subscription
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter