Jun 14, 2022

Spread the love
Mikey Williams will not receive one but three awards during the 2022 PBA Press Corps Awards Night at the Novotel Manila Araneta Center. TNT’s Fil-Am guard leads the All-Rookie team to be notable by the men and women regularly covering the beat of its first face-to-face event in the last three years. Along with Williams, who was named Rookie of the year for Season 46, other members of the team are Jamie Malonzo (Northport), Calvin Oftana (NLEX), Leonard Santillan (Rain or Shine), and Joshua Munzon (Terrafirma). Williams had a brilliant rookie season for TNT, which saw him a first ever PBA championship during the Philippine Cup, where he was also named Finals MVP. He was also the number 4 pick overall in the 2020 draft was likewise a major contender for the Season MVP plum and ended up as a member of the Mythical First Team.  Apart from the All-Rookie-Team, Williams will be recognized too, as the Scoring Champion of the season, ending the two-year reign of San Miguel wingman CJ Perez.  Lastly, the Los Angeles, California native joins Ian Sangalang (Magnolia), Matthew Wright (Phoenix), and Robert Bolick (Northport) as part of the crew to be honored with the Order of Merit. The award is given to individuals who got the most number of Player of the Week honors, also given out by the Press Corps. Yet to be named are the Coach of the Year, Executive of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Mr. Quality Minutes, the Bogs Adornado Comeback Player of the Year, and Game of the Season. TNT’s Chot Reyes and Tim Cone of Barangay Ginebra are slugging it out for the highest honor given to the top performing coach of the season named after the late “Maestro” Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan. Both Coaches Reyes and Cone merged champions in a season where the league played under a two-conference. Reyes piloted the Tropang Giga to the Philippine Cup championship inside the Bacolor bubble in his coaching comeback in the league after a decade, while Cone led the Kings to their fourth Governor’s Cup title in the last six years. The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) All-Rookie-Team is an annual Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) honor given since the 2004-05 PBA season, to the top rookie(s) of the season in each of the five basketball positions: point guard, shooting guard (off-guard or big-guard), small forward, and power forward and center. Finally, unlike the traditional player awards, which is given by the league, this citation is awarded by the PBA Press Corps.
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Bundesliga International agrees on a regional partnership with Mega Casino World in Asia
MCW Sports Newsletter subscription
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter